for-phone-onlyfor-tablet-portrait-upfor-tablet-landscape-upfor-desktop-upfor-wide-desktop-up

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6 a.m. GMT/2 p.m. SGT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect here.

TOP STORIES

GLOBAL

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/INDIA

India nears 200,000 COVID-19 deaths, army pledges help

India’s coronavirus death toll neared the bleak milestone of 200,000 with another 2,771 fatalities reported on Tuesday, while its armed forces pledged urgent medical aid to help battle the staggering spike in infections.

HONGKONG-SECURITY/

Hong Kong leader says govt could intervene in Bar Association if necessary

Hong Kong leader Carrie Lam said on Tuesday the government could intervene if necessary in the Bar Association, whose chief has been labelled an “anti-China politician” by Beijing’s top representative office in the city.

U.S.

USA-CENSUS/

U.S. census hands more House seats to Republican strongholds Texas, Florida

Texas, Florida and North Carolina are among the states that will gain congressional seats based on new population data from the U.S. census, a shift that could boost Republican chances of recapturing the U.S. House of Representatives from Democrats in next year’s midterm elections.

USA-BIDEN/UTILITIES

White House backs 2030 milestone on path to net zero grid

The White House hopes to capitalize on growing support from U.S. utilities, unions and green groups for a national clean energy mandate by backing efforts to require the U.S. grid to get 80% of its power from emissions-free sources by 2030, according to a senior administration official.

BUSINESS

TESLA-RESULTS/

Tesla edges past Wall Street target as bitcoin sales, environmental credits boost revenue

Electric carmaker Tesla Inc marginally beat Wall Street expectations for first-quarter revenue on Monday boosted by a jump in environmental credit sales to other automakers and liquidating some bitcoins.

LYFT-TOYOTA/AUTONOMOUS

Toyota’s acquisition of Lyft’s self-driving unit bolsters its automation ambitions

Toyota Motor Corp will acquire Lyft Inc’s self-driving technology unit for $550 million, the companies said, as the Japanese firm steps up its automation ambitions with the newly created Woven Planet division.

ENTERTAINMENT

AWARDS-OSCARS/RATINGS

U.S. TV audience for revamped Oscars at record low

U.S. television ratings for Sunday’s reinvented Oscars ceremony plummeted to a new low, according to preliminary Nielsen data for a show that USA Today called “a train wreck” and the New York Times described as “a dead room.”

GUCCI-FACEBOOK/COUNTERFEIT

Gucci, Facebook file joint lawsuit against alleged counterfeiter

Gucci and Facebook have filed a joint lawsuit in California against an individual who allegedly used the U.S. group’s social media platforms to sell fake Gucci products, the two companies said on Tuesday.

SPORTS

BASKETBALL-NBA/JAMES

‘Ultra-rare’ LeBron rookie card sells for record-breaking $5.2 million

An “ultra-rare” signed rookie card for four-time National Basketball Association (NBA) champion LeBron James sold for $5.2 million on Monday, breaking the record for the most expensive basketball card ever sold.

TENNIS-MCENROE/

Federer playing French Open with eye on Wimbledon - McEnroe

Roger Federer’s decision to make his long-awaited Grand Slam return on his least favourite surface at next month’s French Open is part of a grand plan to peak in time for his beloved Wimbledon, according to ESPN commentator Patrick McEnroe.

UPCOMING

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

BRITAIN-EU/PARLIAMENT (PIX) (TV)

European Parliament holds final debate on EU-UK trade deal

European Parliament holds final debate on post-Brexit trade and cooperation agreement between the European Union and Britain, before voting, result of which will be known on Wednesday.

27 Apr 03:00 ET / 07:00 GMT

CZECH-GOVERNMENT/

Czech opposition may start a drive to bring down government

One of two main opposition alliances, the centre-right Spolu (Together) will announce whether it will initiate a no-confidence motion. It may succeed as the minority government has lost the support of the Communist Party that had propped it up for years, but many in the opposition question the benefits of bringing the government down, with the Oct election in sight, as it would hand more power to the pro-Russian President Milos Zeman amid a deep diplomatic crisis with Russia.

27 Apr 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

USA-BIDEN/CAPITOL-SECURITY

Security stepped up around U.S. Capitol ahead of Biden’s first address to Congress

Security is stepped up around the U.S. Capitol ahead of President Joe Biden’s first address to a joint session of Congress, months after supporters of former President Donald Trump breached the building in an attempt to block certification of Biden’s election.

27 Apr 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

USA-BIDEN/100 DAYS (PIX)

Biden’s first 100 days - COVID-19, jobs, foreign policy, cats and dogs

U.S. president Joe Biden set ambitious goals on COVID-19, immigration, foreign policy and guns for this week, which marks his first 100 days in office. Here’s how he did.

27 Apr 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

USA-BIDEN/POLL (PIX) (GRAPHIC)

After 100 days in office, what do Americans think of President Biden?

The Reuters/Ipsos poll will release the results of its latest national survey, which has been tracking public opinion related to Joe Biden since 2012.

27 Apr 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

CLIMATE-CHANGE/SCIENTISTS-MADANI (PIX) (GRAPHIC)

SPECIAL REPORT - He’s an Iranian climate scientist who had to flee Tehran hard-liners

THE REUTERS HOT LIST. Last in a series of stories profiling influential climate scientists. Kaveh Madani, an Iranian-born, Western-educated scientist, decided to go back to his homeland to work in the government there. But he thinks some conservatives in the leadership never trusted him. Now he’s always looking over his shoulder and has dropped off the Hot List, where few researchers from developing nations are ranked.

27 Apr 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

BRITAIN-EU/PARLIAMENT (PIX) (TV)

EU lawmakers give press conference on final vote on EU-UK trade deal

European lawmakers give a press conference on the final vote on post-Brexit trade and cooperation agreement between the European Union and Britain, before the results of the vote on Wednesday morning.

27 Apr 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

USA-AFGHANISTAN/SENATE (PIX) (TV)

Envoy testifies at Senate hearing on policy on Afghanistan

Special envoy Zalmay Khalilzad testifies at Senate Foreign Relations Committee hearing on U.S. policy on Afghanistan.

27 Apr 14:30 ET / 18:30 GMT

CONFLICTS / WAR / PEACE

CHAD-SECURITY/ (TV)

Chad prepares for possible unsanctioned protest against new military regime

A coalition of local civil society and opposition groups has called for a peaceful protest in Chad’s capital N’Djamena on Tuesday to demand a return to “constitutional order” after military leaders seized power following the death of President Idriss Deby in battle with rebels. It is not clear if the demonstration will take place as planned, as late on Monday the authorities said it could not be held during the ongoing period of national mourning.

27 Apr 03:00 ET / 07:00 GMT

CRIME / LAW / JUSTICE

USA-COURT/GUNS (PIX)

Supreme Court signals readiness for blockbuster ruling on gun rights

With its decision on Monday to hear a major new gun rights case the U.S. Supreme Court, now dominated by a 6-3 conservative majority, could be ready to deliver a ruling that could have a much bigger impact than its landmark pro-gun decisions more than a decade ago.

27 Apr 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

AFRICA-ENTERTAINMENT/SHOWMAX (PIX) (TV)

MultiChoice’s Showmax invests in African content for growth

MultiChoice’s online streaming platform Showmax is investing in producing its own local content for African audiences as it competes for their attention against Netflix on the continent, a senior executive told Reuters.

27 Apr 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

USA-FED/INFLATION

GRAPHIC - How the Fed may ace, or flub, its inflation call

As the U.S. economic recovery builds momentum, Americans will need to brace for a burst in prices of everything from airfare to lumber, cars to diapers. U.S. central bankers, charged with keeping prices steady along with getting the economy to full employment, say the pain will soon pass and much of the coming pickup in inflation should peter out after several months. Whether their call bears out or blows up will shape the course of monetary policy and the outlook for the world’s biggest economy.

27 Apr 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

AMAZON.COM-TWITCH/MODERATION (PIX)

FOCUS-As tech faces a reckoning, what you do offline can get you banned

Earlier this month, Amazon Inc’s Twitch announced it would start banning users for behavior away from its site. The move, which even involved enlisting a law firm to conduct investigations into users’ misconduct behavior, represented the latest and most prominent case of a practice that has recently expanded across social media companies.

27 Apr 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

HUNGARY-CENBANK/BONDS-TENDER

Central bank bond buying auction results

27 Apr 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

LILLY-RESULTS/

Eli Lilly and Co to report first-quarter earnings

Eli Lilly & Co will report first-quarter results on Tuesday, with investors looking to gauge the financial impact of the U.S. government’s decision to not use Lilly’s COVID-19 drug bamlanivimab as a standalone treatment. Focus will also be on sales of the company’s cancer drugs in the quarter.

27 Apr 08:30 ET / 12:30 GMT

USA-COURT/BIOFUELS

U.S. Supreme Court hears dispute over small-refinery biofuel waivers

U.S. Supreme Court hears arguments in an appeal by small refineries of a lower court ruling limiting biofuel waivers that may be granted by the EPA under the Clean Air Act.

27 Apr 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

RUSSIA-OFZ/AUCTION

Russia’s FinMin announces OFZ bond auctions

Russia’s Finance Ministry announces OFZ bond auctions for Wednesday

27 Apr 12:00 ET / 16:00 GMT

CANADA-CENBANK/

Bank of Canada Governor Tiff Macklem to appear at committee

Tiff Macklem, Governor of the Bank of Canada, will appear at Canada’s House of Commons Standing Committee on Finance.

27 Apr 16:00 ET / 20:00 GMT

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

FILM-THINGS HEARD AND SEEN/ (TV)

Amanda Seyfried and James Norton star in new Netflix horror movie

Amanda Seyfried and James Norton tackle ghosts and a marriage crisis in the Netflix supernatural horror movie “Things Heard & Seen”.

27 Apr 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

PEOPLE-BRITNEY SPEARS/ (TV)

Britney Spears’ lawyer to request new permanent conservator Court hearing for singer Britney Spears’ conservatorship.

Spears’ lawyer will formally request that her father resign and the woman appointed as the temporary conservator be appointed permanently.

27 Apr 16:30 ET / 20:30 GMT

SPORTS

FOOTBALL-NFL/RAMS (TV)

Football - NFL - Rams say Super Bowl could be world’s first ‘post-pandemic event’

February’s Super Bowl in Los Angeles could mark a triumphant return to normal for the world of sports when the most technologically-advanced stadium ever built finally gets its day in the sun, Rams Chief Operating Officer Kevin Demoff said.

27 Apr 15:00 ET / 19:00 GMT

for-phone-onlyfor-tablet-portrait-upfor-tablet-landscape-upfor-desktop-upfor-wide-desktop-up