for-phone-onlyfor-tablet-portrait-upfor-tablet-landscape-upfor-desktop-upfor-wide-desktop-up

REUTERS NEWS SCHEDULE AT 6:00 a.m. SGT/10:00 p.m GMT

Here are the top stories and upcoming coverage plans for Reuters text service as of 6:00 a.m. SGT/10:00 p.m GMT. For a full schedule of news and events, go to our editorial calendar on Reuters Connect here.

TOP STORIES

GLOBAL

AFGHANISTAN-CONFLICT/USA

U.S. Senate panel may force Afghanistan answers from Biden administration

The chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee threatened on Tuesday to subpoena Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin and other officials if necessary to make them testify to Congress about the chaotic U.S. withdrawal from Afghanistan.

CANADA-ELECTION/

In tense campaign, Canada’s Trudeau defends snapping at protester

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau on Tuesday defended his decision to shout at a protester who insulted his wife, Sophie Gregoire, as an increasingly tense election race entered its final days.

U.S.

USA-BIDEN/INFRASTRUCTURE-CONGRESS

Democrats’ tax plan would cut bills for most Americans -congressional estimate

U.S. tax code changes sought by Democrats in the House of Representatives to help fund $3.5 trillion in domestic investments would cut annual tax bills for Americans earning less than $200,000 a year through 2025, a congressional estimate showed on Tuesday.

CALIFORNIA-RECALL/

California voters deciding governor’s fate in Republican-led recall

California voters on Tuesday were deciding whether to recall Governor Gavin Newsom in a special election that will test the power of a Republican Party still dominated by former U.S. President Donald Trump in a deeply Democratic state.

BUSINESS

BOMBARDIER-JET/

Bombardier launches upscale Challenger 3500 in battle for mid-sized private jets

Bombardier on Tuesday unveiled an upscale variant of its Challenger 350 business jet as the planemaker vies to protect its dominant market share in the segment and capitalize on higher demand for private flying during the pandemic.

WARBURGPINCUS-M&A/ODWALLA

EXCLUSIVE-Warburg Pincus-backed firm buys Odwalla brand from Coca-Cola

Full Sail IP Partners, a Warburg Pincus-backed investment firm that acquires brands, told Reuters it has bought the rights to Odwalla from Coca-Cola Co KO.N in a bid to revive the juice and smoothie label that the soft drinks giant discontinued last year.

ENTERTAINMENT

APPLE-EVENT/

Apple’s new iPhone 13 touts faster 5G, sharper cameras to spur trade-ins

Apple Inc unveiled the iPhone 13 and a new iPad mini on Tuesday, expanding 5G connectivity and showing off faster chips and sharper cameras without raising the phone’s price.

AUCTION-SYLVESTER STALLONE/

Sylvester Stallone movie memorabilia headed for auction

From “Rocky” boxing gloves to “Rambo” headbands, memorabilia from action movie star Sylvester Stallone’s Hollywood career are going under the hammer in a December auction seen raising around $1.5 million.

SPORTS

SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-CHE-ZSP/REPORT

Lukaku earns Chelsea narrow win over Zenit

Romelu Lukaku opened his Champions League account for Chelsea as his powerful header earned the holders an unconvincing 1-0 victory over Zenit St Petersburg at Stamford Bridge in their Group H opener on Tuesday.

EQUAL-PAY/SOCCER

Men’s and Women’s teams offered identical contract proposals - U.S. Soccer

The U.S. Soccer Federation said on Tuesday it has offered identical contract proposals to the respective men’s and women’s players associations, in an effort to bring the two parties under one collective bargaining agreement (CBA) structure.

UPCOMING

ARTS / CULTURE / ENTERTAINMENT

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/BROADWAY (PIX)

Broadway’s biggest musicals return after unprecedented pandemic shutdown

“Hamilton,” “Wicked,” “The Lion King” and “Chicago” - four of Broadway’s biggest attractions - reopen after an 18 month pandemic induced closure

14 Sep 19:30 ET / 23:30 GMT

TELEVISION-SEX EDUCATION/ (PIX) (TV)

‘Sex Education’ is back in Netflix

What’s next for the teenagers and staff at Moordale Secondary School? The third series of comedy-drama ‘Sex Education’ is about to land on Netflix and cast members speak about shooting intimate scenes and how they’re handling fame.

Sep 15

TELEVISION-THE MORNING SHOW/ (PIX) (TV)

‘Morning Show’ moves beyond #MeToo to COVID and cancel culture

“The Morning Show,” the Apple TV+ series that tackled the #MeToo movement in its first season, returns this week exploring issues from racism and homophobia to addiction and cancel culture, plus a mysterious illness spreading in China.

15 Sep 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

POLITICS / INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS

AFGHANISTAN-CONFLICT/ONE MONTH-EVENTS (TIMELINE) (PIX) (TV)

TIMELINE-The dramatic first month of the Taliban’s rule in Afghanistan

We chart the major events that have taken place in Afghanistan since the Taliban seized power one month ago.

Sep 15

RUSSIA-ELECTION/SPUTNIK (PIX) (TV)

The town of Sputnik - with Russia’s space and vaccine glory associated with its name - is prepared to vote

The town of Sputnik - which was named after Russia’s space achievements and now gets more attention because it shares the name of Russia’s new COVID-19 vaccine - is prepared to vote for Russian President Vladimir Putin’s team in the country’s parliament election this weekend.

Sep 15

BRITAIN-EU/NIRELAND

Northern Ireland Secretary Brandon Lewis speaks

Britain’s Northern Ireland Secretary Brandon Lewis speaks.

Sep 15

BAHRAIN-POLITICS/

Bahrain releases some political prisoners under new law

Bahrain has released up to 30 detainees, most of whom activists say are political prisoners, under a recently expanded law which allows prisoners to be released at any point in their sentence to serve ‘alternative’ non-custodial sentences.

Sep 15

AFGHANISTAN-CONFLICT/ONE MONTH (PIX) (TV)

One month after fall of Kabul, economic crisis stalks Taliban

A month after seizing Kabul, the Taliban face daunting problems as they seek to convert their lightning military victory into a durable peacetime government.

Sep 15

RUSSIA-ELECTION/UKRAINE-DONETSK (TV)

Putin’s party campaigns in Ukraine’s separatist-controlled east ahead of elections

Russian President Vladimir Putin’s ruling political party, United Russia, campaigns in Donetsk, a separatist-controlled city in eastern Ukraine, in a bid to convince local residents who have Russian passports to vote in the upcoming parliament election.

Sep 15

RUSSIA-ELECTION/COMMUNISTS (PIX) (TV)

How the authorities squeezed a prominent communist and former presidential candidate out of this weekend’s election

How the authorities squeezed a prominent communist and former presidential candidate – Pavel Grudinin – out of this weekend’s election based on an interview with him

Sep 15

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/USA-CASES (PIX)

U.S. expected to report more than 200,000 daily COVID cases

U.S. COVID cases are expected to reach a seven-month high with more than 200,000 new infections reported in the coming weeks, with child hospitalizations spiking due to the contagious Delta variant.

15 Sep 00:00 ET / 04:00 GMT

EU-COMMISSION/ (PIX) (TV)

EU Commission head von der Leyen deliver state of union address

European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen to outline her goals for the 27-country European Union in her annual state of the union address which are likely to include more details on how to achieve the bloc’s ambitious digital targets to catch up with the United States and China

15 Sep 03:00 ET / 07:00 GMT

AUSTRIA-POLITICS/

Weekly Austrian cabinet meeting

Austrian Chancellor Sebastian Kurz speaks after the weekly cabinet meeting

15 Sep 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

IRAN-NUCLEAR/IAEA

U.N. nuclear watchdog’s quarterly Board of Governors meeting

The U.N. atomic watchdog’s 35-nation Board of Governors holds a quarterly meeting. Wednesday is the third day of the week-long session and Iran’s nuclear programme is likely to be up for discussion.

15 Sep 04:00 ET / 08:00 GMT

USA-BIDEN/TAXCREDIT (PIX)

Biden’s child tax credit pays off for Republican-dominated states

As President Joe Biden’s Democrats struggle to agree on what to include in a $3.5 trillion social spending bill, Americans are already feeling the effects of one proposal, an increase in the child tax credit worth $105 billion to families this year.

15 Sep 06:00 ET / 10:00 GMT

BRITAIN-POLITICS/JOHNSON (PIX) (TV)

British Prime Minister Boris Johnson takes questions in parliament

15 Sep 07:00 ET / 11:00 GMT

TAIWAN-USA/ (TV)

Taiwan foreign minister speaks at forum on Taiwan-US ties

Taiwan Foreign Minister Joseph Wu speaks at a forum on Taiwan-US ties.

15 Sep 08:00 ET / 12:00 GMT

SCIENCE / TECHNOLOGY

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/AUSTRALIA (PIX) (TV)

Australia steps up COVID-19 vaccine rollout

Australia expands its COVID-19 vaccination drive as it secures additional supplies in a bid to step up the pace of its inoculation amid a surge in infections.

Sep 15

HEALTH-CORONAVIRUS/USA-BOOSTERS

FDA advisory committee releases documents on Pfizer booster shots

The U.S. FDA is expected to publish documents from FDA scientists, Pfizer and others that will help inform members of its Vaccines and Related Biological Products Advisory Committee, who will meet on Friday to discuss and make a recommendation on potential booster shots of the Pfizer-BioNTech COVID-19 vaccine.

Sep 15

SPACE-EXPLORATION/SPACEX-PROFILES

Profiles of first all-civilian space crew headed for orbit

The quartet of private citizens who make up the Inspiration4 team, poised to make history aboard a SpaceX rocketship as the first all-civilian crew launched into orbit, may appear at first glance to be everyday people, but they are far from ordinary. Sep 15

BUSINESS / ECONOMICS

USA-FUNDS/SALT (PIX)

Skybridge SALT conference

Skybridge Capital hosts SALT New York 2020 conference under the theme “Building a Better Post-Pandemic World” and featuring speakers across hedge funds, venture capital, private equity, real estate and business operators in fintech, crypto and healthcare/biotechnology.

Sep 15

GHANA-ECONOMY/GDP

Ghana reports second-quarter GDP

Ghana’s state statistical service releases data on second-quarter gross domestic product.

15 Sep 05:30 ET / 09:30 GMT

RELIGION

POPE-EEUROPE/SLOVAKIA SASTIN (PIX) (TV)

Pope Francis concludes trip to Slovakia at Sastin pilgrimage site

Pope Francis concludes his trip to Slovakia at the Sastin Basilica of Our Lady of Sorrows, the main pilgrimage site in the predominantly Catholic country

15 Sep 03:00 ET / 07:00 GMT

POPE-EEUROPE/SLOVAKIA DEPARTURE (PIX) (TV)

Pope Francis departs Slovak capital Bratislava for Rome

15 Sep 07:30 ET / 11:30 GMT

SPORTS

SOCCER-MESSI/ECONOMY

The micro-economy spinning around Messi’s Paris adventure

For photographer Oliver Sanchez, there is only one story in town: Lionel Messi’s new life in Paris. Newspapers and magazines globally are haranguing his agency Crystal Pictures for images of Messi, he said. Sanchez’ experience reflects how the money train set in motion by Messi’s PSG signing extends beyond the club, from luxury real estate agents to Argentine restaurants.

15 Sep 05:00 ET / 09:00 GMT

GYMNASTICS-USA/NASSAR (PIX) (TV)

Olympic gymnasts testify to Senate panel on FBI investigation of sexual abuse by Larry Nasser

Simone Biles and Aly Raisman are among the gymnastic Olympians testifying to a Senate Judiciary Committee hearing on the FBI investigation of abuse by Larry Nassar, the former team doctor of the U.S. women’s gymnastics team.

15 Sep 10:00 ET / 14:00 GMT

for-phone-onlyfor-tablet-portrait-upfor-tablet-landscape-upfor-desktop-upfor-wide-desktop-up